Baking in Britain: Waffles

What a nightmare baking has been. Are waffles even baked? Anyway, anything involving converting and measuring has just been an absolute mess in my house.

As an absolute waffle-lover I thought I’d take a stab at making my own. First I emailed my Dad for my late Grandma’s recipe. He calls his sister who confirms that she knows what the packaging for the waffles look like, but not the brand. THE BRAND?! WHAT BRAND?! GRANDMA’S WAFFLES ARE STORE-BOUGHT!? Annoyed and upset, I realised that my childhood memories of eating her delicious waffles each Christmas were all a lie. Still, I soldiered on to find a good waffle recipe and so I consulted Disney.

The delightfully delicious memories I have of Mickey Waffles cheered me up and so I thought I’d try making them, but not without a waffle maker.

After about an hour of searching the Interweb for a waffle maker in the UK I gave up and ordered one from John Lewis. I couldn’t believe how few stores actually stocked waffle makers. Oh well, my Cuisninart waffle maker is pretty snazzy and I love it. I just wish I loved the waffles…

The waffles have been a disaster. Just awful. The first attempt wasn’t horrible, nor was it close to what is served at any normal restaurant (or Disney World). The second time round I went all Paul Deen on the recipe and ended up with fritters. Bleh.

Here is what Hugh and I discovered where we (mostly I) went wrong:

  • US tablespoons aren’t the same as UK tablespoons
  • I’m useless at metric conversions
  • US cups aren’t the same as UK cups
  • Butter in the UK is packaged differently(without the measurements)
  • It’s all by weight rather than volume in the UK

To resolve this mess I got in touch with my parents who after laughing at me agreed to send me some measuring equipment. Ah, sorted. Hopefully future baking adventures will be a bit smoother from here.

